ORDERS OF REFERENCE OF THE JOINT COMMITTEE

Order of Dáil Éireann of 14 May 2014, as amended on 25 November 2014:

- (1) That a Select Committee be appointed, to be joined with a similar Select Committee of Seanad Éireann to form the Joint Committee of Inquiry into the Banking Crisis, for the purposes of conducting an inquiry within the meaning of section 7 of the Houses of the Oireachtas (Inquiries, Privileges and Procedures) Act 2013, in accordance with, and subject to, the Terms of Reference Resolution for the inquiry.
- (2) The Terms of Reference of the Joint Committee shall be as set out in the Terms of Reference Resolution of the Dáil of 25th November 2014 for the Inquiry.
- (3) The Select Committee shall consist of seven (7) members of whom -
 - (a) notwithstanding Standing Order 90, the Chairman of the Select Committee shall be Deputy Ciarán Lynch; and
 - (b) the other members of the Select Committee shall be Deputies Pearse Doherty, Joe Higgins, Michael McGrath, Eoghan Murphy, Kieran O'Donnell and John Paul Phelan,

and the provisions of Standing Orders 92(2) and (3) shall not apply.

- (4) The Chairman of the Select Committee shall be the Chairman of the Joint Committee.
- (5) The quorum of the Joint Committee shall be five (5), of whom at least one shall be a member of Seanad Éireann, and that quorum shall be present for the duration of all meetings of the Committee.
- (6) The Joint Committee shall have the powers set out in Standing Order 83(1), (2), (2A), (3), (4), (5), (7), (8) and (9).
- (7) The Joint Committee shall have the power to nominate persons to assist it in its deliberations; and such persons shall attend meetings as the Joint Committee may determine.
- (8) The Joint Committee shall report, pursuant to Standing Order 107G, to both Houses of the Oireachtas no later than 30 November 2015, and Standing Order 86 shall not apply.

Order of Seanad Éireann of 14 May 2014 as amended on 26 November 2014:

- (1) That a Select Committee be appointed, to be joined with a similar Select Committee of Dáil Éireann to form the Joint Committee of Inquiry into the Banking Crisis, for the purposes of conducting an inquiry within the meaning of section 7 of the Houses of the Oireachtas (Inquiries, Privileges and Procedures) Act 2013, in accordance with, and subject to, the Terms of Reference Resolution for the inquiry.
- (2) The Terms of Reference of the Joint Committee shall be as set out in the Terms of Reference Resolution of the Seanad of 26th November 2014 for the Inquiry.
- (3) The Select Committee shall consist of the following four (4) members:

Senators Seán D. Barrett, Michael D'Arcy, Marc MacSharry and Susan O'Keeffe,

and the provisions of Standing Orders 80(1) and (2) shall not apply.

- (4) The Chairman of the Joint Committee shall be a member of Dáil Éireann.
- (5) The quorum of the Joint Committee shall be five (5), of whom at least one shall be a member of Seanad Éireann, and that quorum shall be present for the duration of all meetings of the Committee.
- (6) The Joint Committee shall have the powers set out in Standing Order 71(1), (2), (2A),
 (3), (4), (5), (7), (8) and (9).
- (7) The Joint Committee shall have the power to nominate persons to assist it in its deliberations; and such persons shall attend meetings as the Joint Committee may determine.
- (8) The Joint Committee shall report, pursuant to Standing Order 103L, to both Houses of the Oireachtas no later than 30 November 2015, and Standing Order 75 shall not apply.