This is the official archived website of the Joint Committee of Inquiry into the Banking Crisis. It was last updated in March 2016 and will not be updated further.
FAQ | Contact Us | | Gaeilge | Press Releases

Banking Inquiry agrees to maintain directions in relation to former Anglo executives


The Oireachtas Banking Inquiry has agreed to maintain directions issued to a number of former executives of Anglo Irish Bank to attend public hearings.

There are provisions under the Houses of the Oireachtas (Inquiries, Privileges and Procedures) Act for people who may have concerns over appearing before the Inquiry for which they can seek their own legal advice.

The Committee recently received correspondence from lawyers acting for Sean FitzPatrick, John Bowe and Pat Whelan informing the Committee that they wished to make an application under s.72 of the Inquiries Act.

Having considered these applications, the Committee concluded that it would not withdraw the directions to those witnesses.

Under the terms of the Act, those witnesses now have the option of applying to the Director of Public Prosecutions for a declaration which, if given, will require the Committee to withdraw the directions concerned. The Committee has informed those witnesses of this right.


All media enquiries in relation to the Oireachtas Banking Inquiry should be addressed to:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

All general enquiries should be directed to the Committee Secretariat.

t. +353 1 618 3651

Committee Membership


Ciarán Lynch (Chairman)
Pearse Doherty
Joe Higgins
Michael McGrath
Eoghan Murphy
Kieran O’Donnell
John Paul Phelan


Sean D Barrett
Michael D’Arcy
Marc MacSharry
Susan O’Keeffe