This is the official archived website of the Joint Committee of Inquiry into the Banking Crisis. It was last updated in March 2016 and will not be updated further.
FAQ | Contact Us | | Gaeilge | Press Releases

Banking Inquiry receives correspondence from DPP in relation to Peter Fitzpatrick


The Oireachtas Banking Inquiry has withdrawn a direction issued to former PTSB executive Peter Fitzpatrick to provide a written statement following intervention from the Director of Public Prosecutions.

Following a decision by the Committee on September 3rd to maintain a direction for Mr Fitzpatrick to provide a written statement to the Inquiry, Mr Fitzpatrick then applied to the DPP for a declaration under section 72 of the Houses of the Oireachtas (Inquiries, Privileges and Procedures) Act which, if given, would require the Committee to withdraw the direction concerned.

Having considered the lines of inquiry on which the Committee directed Mr Fitzpatrick to provide a written statement, the DPP said the evidence sought by the Committee could reasonably be expected to prejudice the prosecution of Mr Fitzpatrick and issued a declaration to the Committee to withdraw the direction.

All media enquiries in relation to the Oireachtas Banking Inquiry should be addressed to:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

All general enquiries should be directed to the Committee Secretariat.

t. +353 1 618 3651

Committee Membership


Ciarán Lynch (Chairman)
Pearse Doherty
Joe Higgins
Michael McGrath
Eoghan Murphy
Kieran O’Donnell
John Paul Phelan


Sean D Barrett
Michael D’Arcy
Marc MacSharry
Susan O’Keeffe