This is the official archived website of the Joint Committee of Inquiry into the Banking Crisis. It was last updated in March 2016 and will not be updated further.
FAQ | Contact Us | | Gaeilge | Press Releases

Banking Inquiry withdraws requirement for Denis Casey to appear before Committee following DPP intervention


The Oireachtas Banking Inquiry has agreed to withdraw the requirement for Denis Casey, former Group Chief Executive, Irish Life and Permanent/Permanent TSB to attend public hearings following intervention from the Director of Public Prosecutions.

The DPP wrote to the Joint Committee last week expressing serious concerns about the appearance of Denis Casey before the Banking Inquiry, on the basis that his evidence could reasonably be expected to prejudice a number of prosecutions currently being pursued. The DPP requested that the Joint Committee withdraw the requirement for Mr Casey to appear before the Inquiry and give evidence.

The Committee will not publish Mr Casey’s statement pending further consultations with the DPP.

Further information on the Oireachtas Banking Inquiry can be accessed on this website.

All media enquiries in relation to the Oireachtas Banking Inquiry should be addressed to:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

All general enquiries should be directed to the Committee Secretariat.

t. +353 1 618 3651

Committee Membership


Ciarán Lynch (Chairman)
Pearse Doherty
Joe Higgins
Michael McGrath
Eoghan Murphy
Kieran O’Donnell
John Paul Phelan


Sean D Barrett
Michael D’Arcy
Marc MacSharry
Susan O’Keeffe