This is the official archived website of the Joint Committee of Inquiry into the Banking Crisis. It was last updated in March 2016 and will not be updated further.
FAQ | Contact Us | | Gaeilge | Press Releases

Enda Kenny, Richard Bruton, Joan Burton, Pat Rabbitte & Joe O’Reilly to appear before Banking Inquiry


The Oireachtas Banking Inquiry will continue its hearings when it will meet with Enda Kenny, Richard Bruton, Joan Burton, Pat Rabbitte & Joe O’Reilly tomorrow, Thursday, 23rd July.

The schedule for the meeting in Committee Room 1, Leinster House is:

Session 1: 9 am – 11.45 am

An Taoiseach Enda Kenny TD & Minister Richard Bruton TD

Session 2: 12 noon – 2.30 pm

An Tánaiste Joan Burton TD & Pat Rabbitte TD

Session 3: 3.30 pm – 5.30 pm

Joe O’Reilly, Founder, Castlehorn Construction and Chartered Land Group

Chairman Ciaran Lynch TD said: “At tomorrow morning’s hearing, our witnesses are are An Taoiseach Enda Kenny TD and Minister Richard Bruton TD. Tomorrow the Inquiry will focus on the role of the Oireachtas and the effectiveness of Oireachtas oversight of the government in the build up to the crisis and in responding to the crisis. The Taoiseach and Minister Bruton are appearing before the Inquiry tomorrow in the context of their respective roles as the leader of Fine Gael while in Opposition and as the Fine Gael spokesperson on Finance while in opposition, while the Tánaiste and Deputy Rabbitte answer questions in relation to their respective roles as the Labour Party spokesperson on Finance while in opposition and as the leader of the Labour party while in Opposition.

“In particular our focus will be on three lines of inquiry – the effectiveness of the Oireachtas in scrutinising public policy on the banking sector and the economy; analysis of the key drivers for budget policy; and the appropriateness of the relationships between the government, the Oireachtas the banking sector and the property sector.

“At our final session tomorrow, we will meet with Joe O’Reilly, Founder, Castlehorn Construction and Chartered Land Group. Joe O’ Reilly has been involved in property development in Ireland for the last 25 years. He founded his company Castlethorn Construction in 1991. He is also the founder and Executive Chairman of the Chartered Land Group, which focused on the development, management and operation of shopping centres and commercial office buildings in the greater Dublin area. Among their projects were the Dundrum Shopping Centre, the Pavilions Centre in Swords, the Ilac Centre in Dublin City Centre, the Grand Canal Theatre and adjoining office blocks in Dublin’s Docks and the creation of a brand new town at Adamstown.

“He is being directed to attend the Inquiry to provide an overview of the relationship between his company and its principal financial institutions, referring, in particular, to the processes behind loan applications, monitoring and oversight of loans by those institutions, a description and assessment of how multi-bank lending in respect of his company was managed and a description and assessment of the business models supporting the expansion of his business in the years leading up to the banking crisis. The Inquiry is also interested in finding out at first hand the impact of the crash on the property sector.”

Further information on the Oireachtas Banking Inquiry can be accessed on this dedicated website. Full committee proceedings will be webcast live on this website while Oireachtas TV will broadcast proceedings from  9am-2pm and from 4pm-5.30pm.

Committee proceedings can also be viewed on the move, through the Houses of the Oireachtas Smartphone App, available for Apple and Android devices.

All media enquiries in relation to the Oireachtas Banking Inquiry should be addressed to:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

All general enquiries should be directed to the Committee Secretariat.

t. +353 1 618 3651

Committee Membership


Ciarán Lynch (Chairman)
Pearse Doherty
Joe Higgins
Michael McGrath
Eoghan Murphy
Kieran O’Donnell
John Paul Phelan


Sean D Barrett
Michael D’Arcy
Marc MacSharry
Susan O’Keeffe