This is the official archived website of the Joint Committee of Inquiry into the Banking Crisis. It was last updated in March 2016 and will not be updated further.
FAQ | Contact Us | | Gaeilge | Press Releases

Oireachtas Banking Inquiry writes to institutions seeking documents and other material


The Oireachtas Banking Inquiry is today, Thursday, 18th December 2014 writing to various institutions to which its terms of reference relate to seek documents and other material to assist its work.

Chairman Ciaran Lynch TD: “The Committee agreed today to write to a number of institutions, banks and Government Departments which come under the inquiry’s terms of reference including the ECB seeking documents and a range of relevant material which will assist us in our work in preparation for the Nexus phase public hearings due to commence in April 2015 and which focuses on three broad elements — Banking Systems & Practices; Regulatory and Supervisory Systems & Practices; and Crisis management systems and policy responses — and how these three elements interacted with each other.  This is the first phase of documents to be sought by the Joint Committee. Further phases will follow as part of the preparatory work for the Nexus Phase.”

All media enquiries in relation to the Oireachtas Banking Inquiry should be addressed to:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

Committee Membership


Ciarán Lynch (Chairman)
Pearse Doherty
Joe Higgins
Michael McGrath
Eoghan Murphy
Kieran O’Donnell
John Paul Phelan


Sean D Barrett
Michael D’Arcy
Marc MacSharry
Susan O’Keeffe