This is the official archived website of the Joint Committee of Inquiry into the Banking Crisis. It was last updated in March 2016 and will not be updated further.
Ceisteanna a Chuirtear go Minic | Teagmháil | | English | Preasráitis

Banking Inquiry agrees to redact statement


The Oireachtas Banking Inquiry has today agreed to redact the written statement received from Johnny Ronan.

The Committee received a formal request from Mr Ronan to remove the final phrase from his witness statement as published.

The Committee normally rejects applications to amend statements once they have been submitted. However, in this case, the phrase at issue contains no evidential value and has the potential to continue to cause offence. In these exceptional circumstances the Joint Committee has agreed to the redaction of the last line of Mr Ronan’s witness statement.

All media enquiries in relation to the Oireachtas Banking Inquiry should be addressed to:

Ciaran Brennan,
Houses of the Oireachtas,
Communications Unit,
Leinster House,
Dublin 2

P: +3531 618 3903
M: 086-0496518
F: +3531 618 4551

All general enquiries should be directed to the Committee Secretariat.

t. +353 1 618 3651

Committee Membership


Ciarán Lynch (Chairman)
Pearse Doherty
Joe Higgins
Michael McGrath
Eoghan Murphy
Kieran O’Donnell
John Paul Phelan


Sean D Barrett
Michael D’Arcy
Marc MacSharry
Susan O’Keeffe