This is the official archived website of the Joint Committee of Inquiry into the Banking Crisis. It was last updated in March 2016 and will not be updated further.
FAQ | Contact Us | | Gaeilge | Press Releases

John Paul Phelan

john-paul-phelanDeputy John Paul Phelan is a Fine Gael TD for the Carlow – Kilkenny constituency. He was elected in the 2011 general election. Deputy Phelan is a member of the Committee on Justice, Defense and Equality.

Prior to entering national politics, Deputy Phelan was elected to the Kilkenny County Council (1999). Before taking his seat in the Dáil, Deputy Phelan was elected, on the Agricultural Panel, to the Seanad (2002). He was re-elected in 2007. During his time at the Seanad, Deputy Phelan worked as Fine Gael’s spokesperson on finance and, later, on trade and employment.

Deputy Phelan is a business graduate from WIT and has recently qualified as a barrister.

The Committee

Ciaran Lynch (Chairman)

Pearse Doherty

Joe Higgins

Michael McGrath

Eoghan Murphy

Kieran O’Donnell

Sean D Barrett

Michael D’Arcy

Marc MacSharry

Susan O’Keeffe